Filing closes for municipal races

Several candidates made it just under the wire Friday as filings closed at noon for most municipal offices.

Filing for Lake Waccamaw, which elects commissioners by ward, begins July 26. Whiteville elects councilmembers by district, and the city is one of about 35 in the state whose elections have been delayed due til March. Problems with U.S. Census data prevented officials from defining districts based on population.

In Boardman, sitting council member Eric Williamson is unopposed for mayor. Current Mayor Randy Williamson did not file for reelection. Incumbents Tevis Britt, James Smith and Minnie Turbeville have filed for reelection, with William Donald Britt and Crystal Rogers joining the races.

Incumbent Mayor Shawn Maynor of Bolton is facing a challenge from Charles Bryant Smith, while Aldermen Daniel Lee “Danny Boy” Brown and Gary J. Graham filed for reelection. Brown and Graham are unopposed.

In Brunswick, Tammy Blackmon, Nancy Hill, Alonzo McArthur, Shirley Moore are on the commissioner ballot for town board there. The four are unopposed. Brunswick’s board votes on a mayor after the new board is sworn into office in December.

Unopposed incumbents are dominating most races, but Chadbourn’s town council race is featuring both some new hopefuls as well as some incumbents and old familiar faces.

Shannon Britt, wife of Mayor Phillip Britt, has thrown her hat in the town council ring with two other newcomers, Myles Cartrette and Tracy Ritchart, a Chadbourn police officer. Incumbents Danny Clewis and Marie Kelley signed up Friday, along with former council member Rashad Roberts. Councilman David Worley did not file for reelection.

Worley did not mince words in his feeling about the potential for a husband and wife team on the board.

“I don’t think it’s right,” he said. “We voted against having Councilman Donald Ray Bass’ wife on the ABC board, and we voted not to appoint Shannon to the Planning board. It’s legal, but it isn’t right.

In Cerro Gordo incumbent Mayor David White and board members Tracey Blackwell, Jeffrey Greene, and Lisa McKee are unopposed. 

Incumbents are on the ballot in Fair Bluff as well, with  Mayor Billy Hammond, Randy Britt, Lester Drew and Clarice Faison filing for office. 

Tabor City’s town council has incumbents Lamont Grate and Sam Rogers back on the ballot for new terms.

Former Sandyfield Mayor Perry Dixon, who currently serves on the town council, has filed for reelection, along with Leonard Hall. Both are unopposed.

  • Some of the contraband seized during Friday's checking station. (CCSO photo)

    Checkpoint lands 67 violations

    The latest Columbus County sobriety checkpoint tallied 67 violations Friday night, including 13 drug offenses. The checkpoint was set up at the intersection of Princess Ann and N.C. 242 near Williamson’s Crossroads, the sheriff’s office [Read More]
  • Crime

    Stabbing victim airlifted

    One man was airlifted from Tabor City after he was stabbed in the head during a melee near Chadbourn Monday. Shikei Daniels, 24, was transported to New Hanover Regional. Daniels was a passenger in a [Read More]
  • Levon Green

    Levon Green

    Mr. Levon Green, age 69, of Tabor City, entered eternal rest Friday, July 23, 2021 [Read More]
  • Mr. Fred D. Massey

    Mr. Fred D. Massey

    Mr. Fred Douglas Massey 76, of Supply, NC exchanged his life on earth for a home in glory [Read More]
  • Doris Pope

    Doris Pope

    Doris Pope , 74, of Hallsboro, died at her residence on Friday, July 23, 2021 [Read More]
About Jefferson Weaver 653 Articles
Jefferson Weaver is the managing editor of and news director for WTXY radio. He can be reached at 910.632.4965, or by email at