Burn ban lifted for Columbus, other counties

Rains that began this weekend led the state to cancel the burn ban for 26 counties, including Columbus.

While a drought is still imminent, the burning ban has been lifted for Columbus and 25 other dry counties.
Effective at 5 p.m. today (June 2), the N.C. Forest Service will lift the ban on open burning for the following counties in North Carolina: Anson, Beaufort, Bladen, Brunswick, Carteret, Columbus, Craven, Cumberland, Duplin, Greene, Harnett, Hoke, Jones, Lee, Lenoir, Moore, New Hanover, Onslow, Pamlico, Pender, Pitt, Richmond, Robeson, Sampson, Scotland and Wayne.
Columbus County’s ban on burning within 100 feet of a structure is still in place, but will likely be lifted.
The burn ban went into effect May 24 due to hazardous forest fire conditions in the area.

Additional rainfall is expected across the area through at least Friday.

 “Recent rainfall across central and eastern North Carolina has decreased fire danger,” said Agriculture Commissioner Steve Troxler. “With more rain expected across the area through the weekend, we should see even more improvement. Still, residents should burn responsibly.”

All burn permits granted before the burn ban were canceled when the ban became effective. As of 5 p.m., burn permits are available in all counties. You can obtain a burn permit from any open authorized permitting agent or online at www.ncforestservice.gov/burnpermit. 

Residents with questions regarding their specific county can contact their N.C. Forest Service county ranger or their county fire marshal’s office. To find contact information for your local NCFS county ranger, visit www.ncforestservice.gov/contacts.

About Jefferson Weaver 1973 Articles
Jefferson Weaver is the Managing Editor of Columbus County News and he can be reached at (910) 914-6056, (910) 632-4965, or by email at [email protected].